Making History

Someday their names will be the answers to Wrangler Division trivia questions. These 12 individuals claimed national championships at the first Wrangler Junior High Finals Rodeo, conducted in July 2005 in Gallup, New Mexico. Here's a closer look at each of the winners.

All-Around Cowgirl: Katie White, Texas. White made the championship round in three events: barrel racing, pole bending and team roping. She won a national title in pole bending, placed ninth in barrel racing and claimed sixth with Oklahoma's Cooper Bruce in team roping.

Barrel Racing: Bailey Sue Morris, Missouri. A 16.141-second run in the short round proved to be Morris' best run of the week. She won the round and claimed the average title by .06 seconds over Louisiana's Lynsey Reed.

Girls' Breakaway Roping: Jessica Koppitz, Oklahoma. Koppitz won the first round with a 2.411-second effort and never looked back. A second-place short-round finish was good enough for first in the average over New Mexico's Kaity Ray.

Girls' Goat Tying: Kyla Foster, Louisiana. Despite a tough first-round goat, Foster edged Oklahoma's Keely Jo Weger for the goat-tying championship. Foster turned in a final-round run of 9.46 seconds to win the round and the championship.

Pole Bending: Katie White, Texas. The all-around cowgirl ranks pole bending as her favorite event, and it's easy to see why. She was the only cowgirl to run three rounds in under 62 seconds, claiming the championship by nearly a half-second over California's Tyla Treasure.

All-Around Cowboy: Tuf Cooper, Texas. Cooper placed in the top three in three events, including a ribbon-roping championship with Madelyn Smith. Cooper also placed second in calf roping and third in chute dogging to win the all-around title by more than 200 points over New Mexico's Seth Hall.

Boys' Breakaway Roping: Ramon Hancock, New Mexico. The only breakaway roper to finish under double digits in the average race, Hancock won the event by nearly two full seconds - an eternity in breakaway roping - over Oklahoma's Ethan McDowell.

Boys' Goat Tying: Kyle Dickens, Colorado. Second entering the short round, Dickens turned in a 10.37-second run that placed second in the round and propelled him to a national championship over New Mexico's Emerson Long.

Calf Roping: Seth Hall, New Mexico. Cooper won the all-around title, but his friend got the best of him in the calf roping. Hall won the final round with a 9.908-second run to finish more than a second ahead of Cooper in the event.

Chute Dogging: Caleb Harvard, Georgia. Harvard turned in a fantastic 1.687-second run in the first round to set up his run to the championship. A fourth-place finish in the final round was good enough to place him ahead of Oregon's Beau Lewis.

Junior Bull Riding: Colby Scallions, Texas. One of only three cowboys to make the eight-second whistle in the final round, Scallions won the bull-riding championship by 28 points over fellow Texan Trey Benton III. Four Texans placed among the event's top seven.

Team Roping: Josh Siggins and Seth Hall, New Mexico. Putting together three runs, each under 13 seconds, was good enough to help Siggins and Hall win the team-roping championship. The team placed second in the final round and topped Texas' Chan-Man Baggerly and Andrew Cameron for the national title.

Ribbon Roping: Tuf Cooper and Madelyn Smith, Texas. Cooper and Smith ran away with the ribbon-roping championship as they bested South Dakota's Trey Young and Taylor Shoemaker by almost eight seconds in the average race.

Team Championship: New Mexico. The host state was the only one to top the 6,000-point total in team competition. With 6,355 points, New Mexico claimed first, while Oklahoma, Texas, Louisiana and California rounded out the top five.